Royal Sunshine Painting Completed

RoyalSunshine

You can’t beat pastels for color that just knocks you into the next county, as my artist mentor Jerry Thomas would say.  I’m very happy with this piece that I just now finished.  Believe it or not, the brilliant magenta is from a Nupastel.  I’m almost out of it, and need to order some more right away.  I also need to order some deep dark shadow blues and violets.  I mostly used them up on this.  This is a complementary color scheme of red-violet and yellow-green.  I used a photo I had taken in the Missouri Botanical Garden 2 or 3 years ago as a jumping off point.

I like the warm glow in the lower right corner.  The effect of bright sunshine is in this piece.  I lightly stumbled orange and yellow orange over the light areas in the leaves, and in the main flower.  It doesn’t shout “orange”, but it adds a warmth and vitality to this piece.  It looks so much better in real life than in a photo like here.  I like how the dark blues tie everything together.

Today is a very cold January day.  As you can tell, I love warm, sunny, colorful days, so I’m trying to stay “up” during this winter weather.  I will go to the gym now and work out.

One thought on “Royal Sunshine Painting Completed

Leave a Reply

