Another Plein Air Sketch the Next Day

My husband, son, and I decided to go to Pere Marquette State Park in Grafton, Illinois.  On the way to the hike, I’m reading an issue of Artists’ Magazine, and there is an article on a specific technique for how not to get all bogged down in detail.  It was great timing.  The article said to see your scene as just an arrangement of large abstract shapes, and to draw a rough line drawing of these shapes in pencil or charcoal, and then color them in, and then work on from there.  It was very helpful.  I decided that for the next several months, I would do just that.  And, I would be very intentional about simplifying what I saw, and not feeling compelled to record every small detail.  I would also figure out what I liked about the scene, and then make that the focal point.

My guys wanted to hike, and I wanted to sketch.  All of the redbud trees were in bloom this day, and it was sunny and warm.  Gorgeous!  It was another windy day, so this time I painted from inside my van.  Today I would experiment with oil pastels.  I’m not used to them, and they are big and blunt, so not much detail.

Here is what I came up with.  It has a completely different look than regular pastels.Pere Marq redbud

Leave a Reply

