Back Into My Art Again Full Time

So I had been working at the kitchen of my son’s elementary school, but am doing so no longer.  I’m back into full on art making mode! Woohoo!

A week ago, I made my first attempt at plein air painting for a VERY long time, at Francis Park in south St Louis.  I was very drawn to an elderly crabapple tree, just starting to bloom.  It was dark pink.  It was a day with almost ridiculous wind (gusting up to 40 mph or more), so I needed to keep a low profile.  Therefore I sat in a chair that was low to the ground, used no easel, and just painting a small piece.  However, I was gobsmacked by all of the details, and quickly got overwhelmed and frustrated.  After I brought the piece home, I knew it would need major work, but I had already filled in all the tooth in the paper.  So I sprayed it heavily with workable fixative, and reworked it.  As I already had a good structure in place, I had only to add some details.  Here is what I ended up with.  I love how pastel is so forgiving.  Windy Crabapple

Leave a Reply

