Closeup of Pink Tulip

I think flowers are my favorite part of nature.  In spring, I can’t help but be so enchanted by their color, their beauty, their sweetness, their fragrance.  Here is a closeup of a tulip done in oil.  I used Permalba white, naples yellow, permanent rose, sap green, indigo blue, and burnt umber.

I love to paint the subtle changes in value in the petals, and also the internal structures of the flower.

For some reason this tulip reminded me of my mother.  This painting has a soft quality to it, and is painted mainly in cool tones.

pinktulipcloseup
Softness of Spring, oil on panel, 16″ x 20″

 

Leave a Reply

