Paddle Boating in Forest Park Painting Completed

I just finished this a half hour ago.  I’m very glad I decided to put in the paddle boat with 5 people in it.  Otherwise, it would have looked somewhat empty.

Last week, my husband and I spent the day at Forest Park, here in St Louis where I live.  Forest Park is the site of the 1904 World’s Fair.  It is well known for that.  It is St Louis’s version of Central Park in New York.

I chose this spot where I could paint on of the park’s many bridges.  I’ve painted several other bridges in this park.

I sat in my car, because it was a warm and windy day, and the view from my minivan was perfect.  My goat here was to paint the light, and then the color.  I was particular struck by the bright, glowing, yellow green leaves of the juvenile tree on the point of land on the right side, as well as by the play of light and shadow on the various grasses and plants under and around this tree.  I purposely lowered the height of the background trees so I could put more sky in the painting.  Having sky always makes a painting appear more spacious, and the light of the sky contrasts nicely with the darks on the ground and water.

I used Nupastels, and Faber Castell soft pastel half sticks.  Their square shape really helps. I also added a few strokes with my extra soft pastels, which are primarily Unison, Sennelier, Schminke, and Great American pastels.  I love the pure color of a pastel stick, and the buttery, soft consistency.  A good artist pastel is literally almost pure pigment, with just a small amount of binder to hold it together.

Here is the link to the listing at my esty store. 

paddleboatingforestpark

One thought on “Paddle Boating in Forest Park Painting Completed

Leave a Reply

