Old Coffee Roaster

My husband has been off work the past 2 days, and Andrew, my 13 year old, has been on his 8th grade trip to Chicago.  It’s been wonderful.  My husband and I have been out taking walks at the Missouri Botanical Garden and Forest Park, having lunch out, and relaxing and having coffee at local cafes.  One such cafe is Shaw Coffee Company, in “the hill” section in St. Louis.  I love the interior of this place.  It is spacious with high ceilings, being as how it is an older building.  There is an old fashioned coffee roaster that they still use.  Today, it was not in use.  I enjoyed sketching this in pencil first, then in charcoal.  After I got home, I added some hilights with off white pastel pencil.  I started to use a stump to blend it out all the texture, but decided to just leave it be.

By the way, Shaw Coffee Company makes some darn good coffee!

cofferoaster
Old Fashioned Coffee Roaster, charcoal, 12 x 9
Leave a Reply

