Homes in Soulard

Several years ago, I had an art studio in the Soulard neighborhood just south of downtown St. Louis.  One half block west of there, on Menard Street, I decided to plein air paint these intricate Victorian turn of the century homes. I painted this on a blue toned pastel paper, and allowed this to show throughout the painting. This is a celebration of color and light!

I had great fun painting this.  I remember standing on the other side of the street, and a guy who owned the nearby bar whistled his appreciation and said he would consider buying it.  I remember soaking up the warm late spring sun (it was June), and enjoying the violet red roses growing right nearby, and the backyard garden of said nearby bar.  I like the way the shadow looks on the building to the left.  I love detail, as you can see from this.  The Soulard neighborhood has blocks and blocks of houses like this, as do surrounding areas of Benton Park and Lafayette neighborhoods. This is only a few blocks from the famous Anheuser Busch Breweries, an old St Louis tradition, as well as Soulard Market, an open air market that opened in the 1700’s.

Here is the listing in my online etsy store.

Learn more about the Soulard area here.

soulardhouses
Homes in Soulard, pastel, 17 3/4 x 13 1/4
2 thoughts on “Homes in Soulard

Leave a Reply

