From Darkness to Light

I seem to have taken a turn towards the abstract.  I never thought this would happen.  However, I have become interested in expressing ideas, instead of physical stuff lately.  This piece was entirely hand drawn – no computers here.  I only used a ruler for the lines I drew in perspective.  I hand drew all the ovals.

Before I knew Jesus Christ and had a personal faith in Him, I was in darkness.  I came to trust in Him in 1976.

The square light represents Him.  All the small surrounding ovals in white, yellow, green, and blue represent different facets of me, and also me in various stages of my life.  Some days in my life,  I am towards the dark, blue ovals.  Other times I am in the light yellow area.  Most days I’m in the green or yellow green areas.

For the past couple of months, I had been struggling with bitterness and resentment.  I was in the darker bluer areas at that time.  In the past few days, God has really been dealing with me, and I’ve repented of unforgiveness.  I’m praying for some people that have been persecuting me and falsely accusing me.  I’ve forgiven them.  I have to see them as broken, hurting people, which they are.  I have to look beneath the surface, which is usually hard, tough, aggressive, and often polished and pretty.  My sins against Jesus are so much greater than any transgressions against me.  I can only forgive and let go through the power of the Holy Spirit.  I have felt such peace and joy since I’ve released all the wrongs done to me.  I’m praying for the people who hurt me, sincerely.  Thank you Jesus.

Here is the link to my etsy store listing. 

fromdarknesstolight
From Darkness to Light, pastel, 24 x 18
Leave a Reply

