Prehistoric

This is an acrylic painting I did several years ago.  The impetus for this was a class I took on abstract painting.  As I am on the autistic spectrum, it is natural for me to be literal and detailed, and to paint almost photorealism.  In one way this is fine, but I would like to go beyond just a technical, literal rendering.  So, I’m going down the abstract path for a while.  I find it very freeing.  I don’t have to worry about making something look realistic.

In this piece, I went very organic.  I used natural earth colors, including a lot of burnt sienna.  I first applied acrylic modeling paste to a canvas panel, and let this dry.  Then I painted it.  After it dried, I sanded down the tops of the ribs, and exposed the white underneath.  The idea here is a an ancient natural artifact or fossil that has been exposed by erosion.

Here is a link to the etsy store listing.

prehistoricabstract
Prehistoric, acrylic on canvas panel, 20 x 16
Leave a Reply

