Another Abstract Titled “Eggs”

Eggs
Eggs, colored pencil on pastel board, 25″ x 19″

I’m really enjoying doing these abstract pieces.  There is so much freedom of expression in abstract work.  I don’t have to worry about making it look like a real object.  When I first started painting, I was very uptight about making everything look true to life.  I have a brain for exact detail, and it’s so easy to get caught up in the millions of details of nature.  Whenever I do a representational work, I work from real life or a photo.  When I do abstract work, I do it strictly from my imagination.  I don’t have to worry about making some semblance of something “out there”.

This piece reminds me of pregnancy, womanhood, fertility, etc.  It could be the eggs of marine life in some seaweed.  It could be a woman’s womb with eggs in it.  It has a very organic sense of rhythm and flow caused by the curved lines, and the lines that echo from each other.

Here is the link to the listing in my online store.

Leave a Reply

