Phases

I really love this Art Spectrum Colourfix Paper.  For one thing, look at the rich, colorful violet blue background.  Using colored pencils on this is so smooth and buttery.

I was inspired by an image I saw in church of a cross with spots of light, like stars.  The “stars” were soft and dim, bright and clear, or in between.  That made me want to do something similar.  I went with a variation of a split complement color scheme.  Blue and orange are opposites on the color wheel.  Red and yellow are close to orange.  So, I used lots of variations of red, pink, orange, yellow, and cream to make these various balls.  I love how the blue shows through on some of them between the circular lines, so I left them that way.

I got the idea to put shadow tails on some of them (like a comet’s tail) because the drawing looked flat, and just reminded me of a fabric print.  I think this really helped add a sense of mystery, and made for a much stronger value system, which is the system of lights and darks.  I used indigo blue for the shadows.  I like the the shadows form a veil over some of the other orbs, and create a greater sense of being three dimensional.

Here is the listing in my online shop.

Phases.jpg
Phases, colored pencil on pastel board, 16″ x 12″
2 thoughts on “Phases

Leave a Reply

