View to the Future

This is an abstract colored pencil drawing I did yesterday.  It’s done on Canson Mi Tientes Touch heavy duty pastel board.  It has a toothy, rough surface that holds many layers of pastel or pencil.

When I do an abstract, I start with a basic idea.  However, I let the artwork unfold and I let my idea evolve.  This makes it more fun, and more of an adventure.  When I first started drawing and painting, I was very rigid, and mainly wanted my art to look like the objects I was representing.  That’s probably because I was learning the skills of how to render real life objects.  Doing abstract work is freeing, and more relaxing for me.  I can express a concept, or a feeling, not just physical objects.  It’s also fun to play with color, lines, shapes, values, and so on.  I love doing geometric forms.

Two things happened with this, that I had not planned.  First, the fact that my lines are closer together and less diagonal in the background gives this piece a feeling of one point perspective.  Second, I like the striations of light and dark violets in the upper 1/5 of the piece.  It reminds me of a sunset with a couple of cloud banks down by the horizon.  The green areas remind me of a rural landscape.  The yellow/gold/orange in the middle reminds me of the path life takes us on.

View to the Future.jpg
View to the Future, 15 1/4″ x 10 1/4, colored pencil on pastel board
Leave a Reply

